RECAP: Plano School District’s 7th Annual “Salute to Service” (photos!)

May 9, 2019

Plano School District's 7th Annual “Salute to Service”

The Plano School District hosted its seventh annual “Salute to Service”awards ceremony on May 6. The ceremony honored Plano Premier Award recipients, retirees and service award achievements in the Auditorium at Plano High School.  The community, family, friends and past and present students were all invited to attend and congratulate these staff members. 


Heartfelt congratulations to the following recipients of the 2019 Plano Premier Awards (nearly 100 staff members were nominated):

PK-6 Teacher-Ann Arends, Music Teacher, P.H. Miller School

PK-6 Early Career Educator-Morgan Lee,Special Education Teacher, Centennial School

PK-6 Service Personnel-Angie Nondorf, Instructional Aide, Emily G. Johns School

PK-6 Support Personnel-Alba Gjerazi, Social Worker, Emily G. Johns School

PK-6 Certified Team,-Fifth Grade Team, Courtney Finnie, Colleen Jones, Kelsey Lavery, Abby Long, Beth Mendez, Kayla Osbron, Joy Rieke, Rachel Sibley & Brittney Wegener

PK-6 Support Team-P.H. Miller Recess Team, Holly Anderson, Courtney Andrade, Barb Cantrell, Joy Downs, Kara Johnson, Joceline Godinez-Pedraza, Kay Schiradelly & Denel Whitmer

7-12 Teacher-Meghan Pahlke, Special Education Teacher, Plano Middle School

7-12 Early Career Educator-Amanda Hitzeman, Math Teacher, Plano High School

7-12 Service-Paula Carter, Instructional Aide, Plano Middle School

7-12 Support Personnel-Brett Spratley, Instructional Coach, Plano High School

District Certified Team-Instructional Coaches, Mary Rose Coker, Melissa Crisci, Brittany Pezold, Faith Skinner, Brett Spratley & Pam Reilly

District Support Team-Transportation Department, Bus Drivers & Aides, Gretchen Konczyk & Jen Dieter

District Service Personnel-Hannah Moody, Administrative Assistant/Fiscal Services

School Board-Jim Ward

Community Volunteer Individual-Pastor Stevan Saunders

Community Volunteer Group-PATT Executive Board & Volunteers

Administrator-Dr. Tracy Thurwanger, Assistant Superintendent



The following retirees were recognized during the “Salute to Service” ceremony:

  • Deb Chatman – Family & Consumer Science Teacher, Plano High School (1979-2019)
  • Sue Gerardot – District Health Supervisor (2003-19)
  • Anne Hutchison – Media Center Director, Plano High School (2001-2019)
  • Carol Pillsbury – English Teacher, Plano High School (1969-2019)
  • Greg Thoms – Elementary/Physical Education Teacher, Centennial School (1990-2019)
  • Kathy Tyler – Computer Teacher/District Technology Coordinator, Plano High School (1980-2019)
  • Angie Carreno – Building Secretary, Plano Middle School (2002-2018)
  • Piedad Corral – Custodian, Plano High School (2003-2019)
  • Griselda Rodriguez – Assistant Cook, Plano Middle School (2005-2019)
  • Cher Walker – Instructional Aide, Centennial School (1974-2019)


Last, but certainly not least, the following staff members celebrated milestone years of service awards. They received pins and certificates:

10 Years– Tammi Davis, Ruth Michaelson, Lindsey Wendt, David Lay, Beth Mendez, Tim Staton, Joe Kampf, David Covert, Dave Hislop, Nancy Kick, Colleen Klema, Sue Rydzewski

15 Years– Renee Moody, Shannon Warner, Amy Winter, Leslie Young, Susan Webb

20 Years– Kari Gerakaris, Darlene Hallenbeck, Heidi Heiman

25 Years– Cindy Heath

30 Years– Jim Schmidt

40 Years– Deb Chatman

50 Years– Carol Pillsbury


©2019 Plano Community School District. All Rights Reserved | 800 S. Hale St, Plano, IL 60545